Local Presbyterians start new food ministry

Published 12:02am Tuesday, April 9, 2013

Local Presbyterians are spreading the love of Christ through a new food ministry, aptly titled “Love Thy Neighbor Meals.”

Organizer Judy St. John said Monday that the first meal will be served on Saturday.

“This is going to compliment the St. Mary’s food program, but it’s going to be separate,” she said.

St. John said that the congregation has been thinking and talking about doing a soup kitchen for some time.

“We had a member who passed away and this was her wish,” she said. “The whole church is involved.”

The meals will be served free of charge and no paperwork or documentation is required.

Breakfast will be served the second Saturday of each month, from 8 a.m. until 10 a.m., and lunch will be served the fourth Wednesday of each month, from 11 a.m. until 1 p.m. The meals will be served in the First Presbyterian Fellowship Hall, which is located on South Three Notch Street, near the railroad track.

Volunteers and donations are welcome, St. John said.

Meals will be served on the following dates:

• Sat., April 13 (breakfast);

• Wed., April 24 (lunch);

• Sat., May 11 (breakfast);

• Wed., May 22 (lunch);

• Sat., June 8 (breakfast);

• Wed., June 26 (lunch);

• Sat., July 13 (breakfast);

• Wed., July 24 (lunch);

• Sat., Aug. 10 (breakfast);

• Wed., Aug. 28 (lunch);

• Sat., Sept. 14 (breakfast); and

• Wed., Sept. 25 (lunch).

For more information, call 222-5352.

 

Leave a comment

You must be a registered user and signed in to comment on this article.

Editor's Picks