Hudson wins Street Stock Madness

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, September 3, 2002

South Alabama Speedway held the fifth annual Street Stock Madness race Saturday night and the extra laps played to Tim Hudson's advantage. Hudson took the lead on lap 60 of the 75-lap feature and went on to win the Street Stock special.

Jamie Bowers took the initial lead before Brian Martin took over on lap three. Long green periods allowed drivers to move up through the pack and then caution periods bunched the field back up. Timbo Kendrick and Derek Deese were two drivers that were able to make their way forward as the race went on. At the half way mark, Martin continued to lead followed by Chad Roberts, Deese and Kendrick. Hudson was back in the sixth spot.

Martin was beginning to slip a little in the turns and Roberts was beginning to apply the heat. After several attempts to stick his nose under Martin, Roberts was finally successful on lap 51. But Deese also had a good run and as the three headed down the backstretch, Deese got his nose under Roberts. The trio headed into the turn three wide, which of course, didn't work. Although Martin was the only one to spin, track rules sent all three to the rear of the field. Stacey Bedsole, who had made his way up to fourth, took over the point, and appeared headed to his first win. But on lap 61. Bedsole's car slowed and headed to the pits. Hudson took over and led the remaining 15 laps to take his second Street Stock win. Kendrick finished second ahead of Scott Whitehead. Roberts and Martin came back to finish fourth and fifth.

In the Super Stock Feature, David Ashley won for the second straight week. Greg Raybren took the early lead before Rick Northey took over on lap six. Ashley took the lead on lap 11 and led the rest of the way to take the win. Jody Henderson took the runner up position, followed by Northey, Tommy Adams and Bill Brown.

For the second straight week, there was a new winner in the Modified Class. Jamie Ater led the first two laps before last week's winner Doug Rogers charged into the lead. Rogers led for the next nine laps before Mike Johnston took over on lap 12. From there, Johnston held off Kevin Peel to take his first win at SAS. Rogers held on to finish third with Ater fourth and Ken Gibson fifth.

Ricky Osborn led flag to flag to win the Roadrunner Feature. Post race inspection claimed three of the next four finishers. Second place finisher Jason Singletary, fourth place Perry Boin and fifth place Gary Morse were disqualified for having illegal heads. Larry Roberts crossed the line second and passed inspection. Kim Bishop was moved up to third with Sam Smith fourth and Larry Cordle fifth.

Ken Younce Sr. took the lead half way through the 20-lap Mini Sportsman Feature and went on to win. Early leader Mike Cherry finished second with Josh Cherry third. Rick Cherry took home fourth place honors, with Scott Daughtry rounding out the top five.

In a special 15-lap Motorcycle Feature, Robert McClendon took the lead from Tim Large on lap five to take the win. Reggie Barnsdale was second with John Aarts third. Rounding out the top five were Large and Van Rayburn.

Next week, South Alabama Speedway will have heats and features for the Super Stock, Modified, Street Stock, Roadrunner and Mini Sportsman classes.

For more information, contact the track at (334) 565-3539 or visit the track's web site at