First woman elected to the Crenshaw County FSA Committee

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, January 3, 2007

Special to The Journal

Bethany F. Quates was elected to represent farmers in the Danielsville, Highland Home, Petrey, Patsburg and Vidette communities on the Crenshaw County Farm Service Agency (FSA) Committee.

This is Quates' first term as a County Committee member.

The FSA County Committee Election was held December 4, 2006.

The election results for Local Administrative Area 1 are:

n Bethany F. Quates:

Elected to the County Committee (COC)

n Charles L. Toots Shepherd:1st alternate to COC

n Joseph C. Eiland:2nd alternate to COC

Jesse Salter is the outgoing committee member.

Salter served on the Crenshaw County FSA Committee for 18 years.

FSA appreciates the dedication that Mr. Salter provided to the farmers of Crenshaw County and thanks him for his service.

FSA appreciates all of the voters for taking the time to complete the election ballot.

The FSA County Committee system works only because of your participation.

The Committee members will hold their organizational meeting in January to determine who will serve as the County Committee Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson.