Fort Dale Academy honors fall athletes

Published 12:00 am Saturday, January 27, 2007

Fort Dale Academy held its Fall Sports Banquet Tuesday night at the Greenville First Baptist Church and hundreds of people turned out in support of the Eagles' sports programs.

The night began with dinner and then headmaster David Brantley spoke briefly about how proud everyone should be of the Eagles' athletic programs.

&#8220But our success in athletics goes much farther than winning and losing,” Brantley said.

Before introducing the athletic teams, Brantley made a huge announcement.

In February, long-time Fort Dale football assistant coach Jimmy Gardner will be indicted into the AISA Hall of Fame.

Brantley acknowledged and praised Gardner for his many years of selfless service in which Gardner volunteered his free time in order to help guide our youth through athletics.

After a standing ovation, each team was introduced and individual awards were given out to those who stood out during the fall season.

For the volleyball teams, Murphy Middleton was named as the junior varsity Most Valuable Player. Erin Taylor and Karli Boulware were both named as the team's Most Improved Player. Alex Vickery was awarded with the Team Spirit award.

For the varsity volleyball team, Emily Boulware was awarded as the team's Most Valuable Player. Vickie Hickman and Brook Wilson were named as the team's Most Improved Players and Karli Boulware was awarded with the Team Spirit award.

The junior varsity and varsity dance and cheerleader teams were honored next and then the football teams were presented with their awards.

For the junior varsity team, which went a perfect 8-0 during the 2006 season, Daniel Nolan was named as the team's Most Valuable Player and the Best Offensive Back.

The Best Offensive Lineman award went to Thomas Nolan and the Best Defensive Lineman award went to &#8220Big” Nate Reaves. Reaves also won the team's Headhunter Award, which is given to the defensive player with the most tackles on the season.

Sean Harper took home the Best Defensive Back award and Dustin Till was awarded the Coaches Award.

The varsity football team, which finished 10-2 with a semifinal playoff appearance this season, was last to be presented.

Senior quarterback and safety Ty Newton was named as the team's Most Valuable Player and Barry Boan took home the defense's Headhunter Award.

Blake Conway was named as the team's Best Defensive Lineman and Cory Johnson was named as the Eagles' Best Offensive Lineman.

The Best Backs went to Mika Jones on defense and Blake Mullins on offense and Dalton Gregory took home the Coaches Award.

All award winners, except for the Coaches Award, were voted on by the players on each respective team.

Following the award presentations, a video chronicling the whole season was presented for the audience.