Luverne High School honors seniors of 2007 at annual Football Banquet

Published 12:00 am Saturday, February 17, 2007

With the seniors being the special guests for the evening, Luverne High School hosted its annual football banquet Thursday evening, Feb. 1, in the school cafeteria.

LHS Principal Earl Franks told the students that he was &#8220proud” of the way they represented the school.

&#8220We had a great football season, and all of you should be very proud of yourselves,” he said.

Head football coach Brad Waggoner said that the players had worked hard and had &#8220put in a lot of effort and a lot of hours.”

&#8220We had good senior leadership this year,” Waggoner said. &#8220It was obvious we had that since we made it to the third round of the playoffs.”

The 2007 senior class football players had seen an overall 40-12 record during their high school careers, as well as a 26-2 region record.

Senior Fred Hawkins, who signed a full football scholarship with Troy University Feb. 7, received the Tiger Achievement Award.

With a 96 grade point average and someone Waggoner described as an &#8220extremely hard worker,” senior Lamar Gibson received the Billy Beasley Scholastic Award. Gibson has played football for the Tigers all four years of his high school career.

The Jim Sanford Sportsmanship Award was given to senior Josh Butts. Coach Joey Denison said that it was &#8220a true honor to receive this award.” Sanford was described as a &#8220stellar athlete” for Luverne High School.

Senior Marco Jones was presented the Athletic Club Difference Maker Award by Coach Andre Parks.

Coach Butch Norman presented seniors Romethious Harris and Andrew Smith with the Butch Norman Offensive Team Captain Awards.

Senior Narvais Cole was presented the Offensive Player of the Year Award by Coach Joey Denison.

Seniors Marco Jones and Cory Oliver were awarded the Glenn Daniel Defensive Team Captain Awards. Coach Glenn Daniel presented the awards.

The Defensive Player of the Year Award went to senior Cory Oliver with 91 tackles. Coach Les Sanders presented Oliver with his award.

The cheerleader awards were presented by Head Cheerleader Sponsor/Coach Tammy Alford and Asst. Sponsor/Coach Rachel Watts.

Senior Brandi Rolling received the Senior Cheerleader Award and the Captain's Award.

&#8220She's always kept these girls on track,” Alford said. &#8220Brandi's been with me a long time, and I am going to miss her.”

All of the football players received a varsity letter for the year. Each senior football player received a senior plaque and a Bible. The Bibles were presented by Brother Tate Ray. Ray even brought one extra Bible to be given to the leader of next year's team.

Coach Waggoner then presented junior Stoney Jackson with the 2006 Honorable Mention All-State Offensive Line Class 2A Award.

&#8220This senior class was a great class to coach,” Waggoner said. &#8220Every one of these kids has the opportunity to go on and be successful in life. It has been an honor for me to work with them.”

After the award presentations, the banquet ended with a film highlighting special scenes from the 2006 football season.