Commissioners sworn in

Published 11:55 pm Monday, November 10, 2008

Before a crowd of family, friends and county employees, the newly elected members of the Covington County Commission were officially appointed to their seats Monday.

The group consisted of Chairman Lynn Sasser, District 1 Commissioner David Ellis, District 2 Commissioner Bragg Carter, District 3 Commissioner Harold Elmore and District 4 Commissioner Carl Turman.

District Judge Frank “Trippy” McGuire performed the oath taking ceremony in the stead of Circuit Judge Ashley McKathan, who was officiating a funeral.

McGuire asked those attending to remember Benjamin Franklin’s role during the negotiations during the writing of the U.S. Constitution, who urged members to agree to “join in prayer before all deliberations.”

“This is a sacred oath to not only God but also to the people of Covington County,” McGuire said of the day’s installation. “I believe we are poised for growth here in Covington County.”

The new commission will hold its first meeting Wednesday at 9:30 a.m. in the commission chambers.