Saints start World Series against Arizona team

Published 8:53 pm Thursday, May 21, 2009

Ten of the best junior college baseball teams in the nation will travel to Enid, Okla., beginning Fri., May 22, to compete in the NJCAA Division II World Series. The tournament at David Allen Memorial Ballpark will culminate in the national championship game on May 30.

The 10 district champions from across the nation will compete in the double-elimination tournament. The teams, their season record and district are:

Scottsdale Community College, Scottsdale, Ariz. (36-20), Southwest District.

Des Moines Community College, Boone, Iowa (54-9), North Plains District.

Kankakee Community College, Kankakee, Ill. (48-12-1), North Central District.

Parkland College, Champaign, Ill. (44-9), Midwest District.

Kellogg Community College, Battle Creek, Mich. (30-19), North District.

LSU-Eunice, Eunice, La. (48-10), South District.

Western Oklahoma State College, Altus, Okla. (49-13), Plains District.

Lurleen B. Wallace Community College, Andalusia (47-9), Southeast District.

Monroe Community College, Rochester, N.Y. (27-17), East District.

Allegany College of Maryland, Cumberland, Md. (49-13), Northeast District.

— From staff reports