Broyles Award finalists named

Published 7:18 pm Monday, November 30, 2009

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) — Florida defensive coordinator Charlie Strong and Alabama defensive coordinator Kirby Smart are among the five finalists for the Broyles Award, which goes to the nation’s top assistant coach.

None of the finalists has lost a game this season. The others are: Boise State offensive coordinator Bryan Harsin, Cincinnati offensive coordinator Jeff Quinn and Texas Christian defensive coordinator Dick Bumpas.

The winner will be announced Dec. 8 in Little Rock. The Broyles Award is named for former Arkansas coach Frank Broyles. More than 25 of his assistants became head coaches. They include Joe Gibbs, Jimmy Johnson and Johnny Majors.

Strong and Bumpas were finalists a year ago, when Oklahoma offensive coordinator Kevin Wilson won the award.