Powell, DeSchepper take top AHS honors

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, March 31, 2010

Lauren Powell was named valedictorian and Anna DeSchepper, salutatorian, at the 23rd Andalusia High School’s Academic Banquet, held on March 8, 2010 in the Bulldog Bistro.

Powell, National Honor Society president, welcomed faculty, students, parents and guests and members of the Andalusia City Schools Foundation, which sponsors banquet. Jessica Smith, vice-president, led the devotion.

Dawn Thompson, National Honor Society sponsor, introduced the speaker, Mary Elizabeth Hobson Gomez, AHS Class of 2000. Gomez earned her bachelor of science degree in nursing from Auburn University and a master’s degree in anesthesia. She has traveled to Africa on mission work. Gomez praised her high school teachers and thanked them for preparing her for college; however, she urged students to be prepared to change their goals. She added that students must apply what they learned in high school in order to be successful at the college level.

Maria Smith presented awards to students who made the “A” Honor Roll, first semester. They were:

Freshmen: Anna Beth Bowden, Maria Coon, Candace Cravey, Connor Dayton, Hunter Dendy, Raegen Eiland, Alex Evans, Meredith Grace Kerr, Sung Mo, Will Parker and John David Thompson.

Sophomores: Stephen Caton, Samantha Hill, Lashana Jackson, Will Jackson, Monet Jones, Michael Kelley, Mariah Nelson and Kathryn Williams.

Juniors: Paige Caraway, Alicia Johnson, Ava May, Millard McWhorter, Aubri Morgan, Jamie Park, Garrett Sasser, Grace Spears and Shelby Strong.

Seniors: Amber Anderson, DeSchepper and Kristen Finley.

Donna Cauley recognized the “Top 10” juniors, based on grade point averages. They were Alicia Johnson, Maggie Jones, Ava May, Millard McWhorter, Aubri Morgan, Megan Pugh, Garrett Sasser, Grace Spears, Shelby Strong and Devin Williamson.

Jenny Pitts announced the honor graduates of the Class of 2010. They are:

Cum Laude (90.0-92.9): Les Boartfield, Evan Brooks, Michael Gatlin, Kanesha Leslie, Tally Morrow, Aaron Norris, Melissa Riley and Amber Thomas.

Magna Cum Laude (93.0-97.9): Amber Anderson, Tyler Campbell, Mitchell Clark, DeSchepper, Finley, Nate Mack, Jacob Ricardy and Jessica Smith.

Summa Cum Laude (98.0-100.0): Powell.

Assistant Principal Donna Glisson announced Powell and DeSchepper as valedictorian and salutatorian, and Glisson made the closing remarks for the banquet.