5 current officials running unopposed

Published 12:00 am Saturday, April 3, 2010

Two Covington County judges, two school board members and the state senator who represents the county have all avoided having to campaign this year, as qualifying for this year’s races ended Friday with none drawing opposition.

Both Circuit Judge Ashley McKathan, an independent, and District Judge Frank “Trippy” McGuire, a Democrat, are unopposed in their bids for reelection, as are county board of education members Jeff Bailey and Lynda Powell, both Democrats. Sen. Jimmy Holley (R-Elba), who represents Covington, Coffee, and portions of Dale and Houston counties, also is unopposed.

The only contested local party nomination in the June 1 primaries is in the race for the Republican nomination for state House of Representatives, District 92, where Greg White and Mike Jones, both of Andalusia, will square off.

The winner will have two opponents in November – Democrat David Darby and independent candidate Don Cotton.

One Covington County resident – Florala’s Glen Zorn – is seeking statewide office. Zorn, a current deputy commissioner of agriculture, is a Democratic candidate for the commissioner’s office.

In the other contested county races – for district attorney, sheriff and coroner – there is one Democrat and one Republican on the ballot. They’ll face each other in the Nov. 2 General Election.

William Blocker, the county’s Republican Party chairman, said he was pleased with local turnout for the upcoming election.

“Of course, we’d love to have more candidates qualify for all the races because I think all races should be contested,” Blocker said.

“It shows a dynamic political process, and that’s what we should have. People should have a choice at the poll, not only at a local level, but also on a statewide level. While I may not agree with a candidate’s position, I applaud their willingness to get involved and run for office.”

Alan Woodard, the county’s Democratic Party chairman, said he believes candidates should be respected for their willingness to help their community.

“People generally dislike politics and politicians,” Woodard said.

“They have a reluctantance to get involved in politics because of all the negativism associated with it, but what you have to remember is that politics is the science of helping people.

“When someone steps up and says, ‘I’m willing to try,’ that person certainly has my respect,” he said. “We can call ourselves Democrats or Republicans, but all the data that I’ve reviewed on local elections reflects that they are interested in parties but what it really boils down to the core is the candidate and who they are as a person.”

The 2010 Primary Election is set for June 1, followed by the Nov. 2 general election.


Incumbent Dennis Meeks (D)

John Davis (R)


Incumbent Norman Hobson (D)

Wilson “Eddie” Rowell (D)

District Attorney

Incumbent Greg Gambril (D)

Walt Merrell (R)

County BOE, Place 3

Jeff Bailey (D)

County BOE, Place 4

Lynda Powell

District Judge

Frank “Trippy” McGuire

Circuit Judge

Ashley McKathan (Ind.)

State Representative, House seat 92

David Darby (D)

Don Cotton (I)

Mike Jones (R)

Greg White (R)

State Senate, District 31

Jimmy Holley, (R)

Commissioner of Agriculture

Glen Zorn (D)

John McMillan (R)

Dale Peterson (R)

Dorman Grace (R)

Attorney General

James H. Anderson (D)

Michel Nicrosi (D)

Giles Perkins (D)

Troy King (R)

Lt. Governor

Jim Folsom Jr. (D)

Hank Erwin (R)

Kay Ivey (R)

Gene Ponder (R)


Robert Bentley (R)

Bradley Byrne (R)

Tim James (R)

Bill Johnson (R)

Roy Moore (R)

James Potts (R)

Charles Taylor (R)

Artur Davis (D)

Ron Sparks (D)

Sam Franklin Thomas (D)

State Auditor

Samantha Shaw (R)

Miranda Joseph (D)

State Treasurer

Young Boozer (R)

George Wallace Jr. (R)

Charley Grimsley (D)

Jeremy Sherer (D)

U.S. Senate

William G. Barnes (D)

Simone De Moore (D)

Richard Shelby (R)

U.S. Representative

Bobby Bright (D)

Martha Roby (R)

Rick Barber (R)

Stephanie Bell (R)

Rob John (I)