McKathan crowned 2010 Miss Andalusia Manor

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, May 12, 2010

Twenty-one residents of Andalusia Manor dressed in their Sunday best Tuesday to compete  for the title of Ms. Andalusia Manor.
Director of Operations Sal.Lee Sasser said this was the 11th year the event was held.
The ladies each took a turn being escorted for their chance to persuade judges Vicki Popwell, Bob Brooks and Kim Matthews.
While the judges deliberated on just who would win this year’s title, Roger Boothe entertained the audience with a few gospel favorites.
Winning the title of Ms. Andalusia Manor 2010 was Lorene McKathan. First runner up was Mattie Wells and second runner up was Felma Schrimshire.
Also competing in the pageant were: Eunice Browder, Sonya Bennett, Mattie Griffith, Nina Taylor, Ruthie Spivey, Eva Dunaway, Wynona Powell, Ruby O’Neal, Elaine Myrick, Lillian Copeland, Josephine Harris, Linda Sessions, Adell Williamson, Syble Tompkins, Willie Mae Clements, Bernice Wiggins, Virginia Prestwood and Ellen Worley.
The winners were crowned by last year’s queen, Beatrice Lowe, and Sasser.
Master of ceremonies was Roger Powell.