Opp BOE qualifying ends

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, July 21, 2010

Qualifying for Opp Board of Education ended Tuesday, with one person running for District 1, two for District 2 and one for District 4.

Only one of the three board members whose seat is up for reelection qualified to run again – Jennifer Ferguson in District 2.

She is receiving opposition from T.P. Morgan.

Dean Morris, who currently holds the seat in District 1, did not choose to qualify, but Robert Young did.

In District 4, William Hines is running for the seat, but Gloria Campbell did not seek reelection.

The election will be held Aug. 24.