All aboard for Treasure Island

Published 12:53 am Saturday, August 21, 2010

Pirates, ruffians and townspeople commandeered the stage of LBWCC’s Dixon Center Friday for the Missoula Children’s Theatre production of Treasure Island, sponsored by the Covington Arts Council.

The production is an original adaptation of Robert Louis Stevenson’s epic novel and featured 55 Covington County students from first grade up. See our gallery here.


Those students auditioned on Monday and spent three days preparing to stage the event on Friday.

Southeast Alabama Gas District, the Andalusia Junior Woman’s Club and Coterie Club helped sponsor the production.

Cast members included:

• Jeremy Boyd as Jim Hawkins.

• Pirates Zoo Cooley, Danielle Hudson, Charlie Brock, Callen Woodard, Katrine Christensen, Steadman Glenn and Laklyn Hudson.

• Jim’s sisters, Maklyn Batchelor, Susan Taylor, Samantha Rolling, Madison Robbins, Nicole Spears and Elisabeth Christensen.

• Harley Lee as Cap’n Flint.

• Bronwyn Smith as Mother Hawkins.

• Ruffians Christian Wossilek, Holly Majors, and Abby Walker.

• Villagers Valerie Tomberlin, Haley Cooper, Kristen Brazwell, Brantley Ivy, Ashley Coon, Brandon Alveshire, Hannah Bulger, Cameron Woodard, John Allen Wise, Jeb Thomasson, Sissy Adams, Mary Taylor Seymore, Annie Tomberlin, Matthew Riedel, Alyssa Burden, Gabe Williamson, and Alden Wells.

• Seagulls Olivia Lane Wise, Mary Kate Harris, Brenna Wells, Amanda Majors, Allie Ivey, Adeline Fischer, Payton Burden, Hollie Lee, Garrett Riddle, Kailin Schepper, Ingram Dugger, Abigail Lee, Victoria Ainsworth, Hannah Grace Blackstock, and Isabella Cox.

Assistant directors were Cassidy Coon, Abigail Livingston, Kyle Powell and J.P. Thomasson.

Christina Christensen served as piano accompanist.

Missoula’s Katie Northcutt and Caity Johnson directed the production and starred as Long John Silver.