New Opp BOE members sworn in

Published 11:58 pm Monday, October 4, 2010

The Opp City School Board recently installed two new board members and re-installed another.

In District 1, Robert Young replaced Dean Morris, and in District 4, William Hines replaced Gloria Campbell.

In addition, District 2 board member Jennifer Ferguson was sworn in for another term.

OCS Superintendent Michael Smithart said school officials are excited to have the opportunity to work with the board and its new members.

“This is a challenging time, but it also an opportunity to perhaps bring some new ideas and fresh perspective to Opp Schools,” he said. “I appreciate their willingness to serve our community, and I look forward to the opportunity we have to work together to impact the lives of young people here in Opp.”