Hunters ed course set for November
Published 12:00 am Saturday, October 16, 2010
First-time hunters needing to take the state mandated hunter education course should mark their calendars for Nov. 1-4.
This course is required by law for all first-time hunting license buyers born on or after Aug. 1, 1977, and must be taken prior to receiving their first hunting license.
The four-day class will be offered by the Alabama Conservation Department’s Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries Division in the conference center building of the LBW Community College MacArthur campus from 6 p.m. until 9 p.m. nightly.
The goal of the hunter education program is to make Alabama hunters more responsible and more knowledgeable about wildlife conservation.
The course is a minimum of 10 hours of instruction plus a written examination. Subject matter includes firearm safety and handling, responsible hunting and hunter ethics, wildlife law, wildlife management and identification, archery, muzzle loading, first aid, survival and game care. Students will be given a written exam to test for certification on the last night of class.
There is no charge to attend this course nor is there a charge for the certification exam. Participants must be age 10 years old or older to attend the class and receive certification. Participants will need to bring their social security card with them on the first night of class.
For more information or to register, contact Cindy Green on the MacArthur Campus at (334) 493-5344 or email@example.com.