Defending champs return to Super 6

Published 12:00 am Tuesday, November 30, 2010

MONTGOMERY – Twelve teams have emerged from the original playoff field of 192 to the first-ever Alabama High School Athletic Association Super 6 state football championships to be played at Auburn University’s Jordan-Hare Stadium Dec. 2-3..

The two-day championship event kicks off Thursday with three finals scheduled, followed by three more on Friday. Among the 12 are defending state champions Hoover (6A) and Reeltown (2A) and two schools making their first ever Super 6 appearance, Hamilton (3A) and Spanish Fort (5A).

Thursday’s schedule opens with a battle of unbeatens in the Class 3A finals. Leeds (14-0), the 2008 state champ, faces Hamilton (14-0) at 11a.m The Aggies, 29-1 in the last three regular seasons, knocked off defending Class 3A state champion Piedmont in the semifinals to advance to the 3A title game. The Class 1A championship follows at 3 p.m. with Sweet Water (11-3) taking on R.A. Hubbard (13-1). The Class 5A finals are set for Thursday night at 7 p.m. with Briarwood Christian (13-1) meeting Spanish Fort (12-2).

Friday’s schedule features unbeaten Thomasville (14-0) and Deshler (12-2) in the Class 4A title game at 11 a.m., followed by Leroy (13-1) and defending state champion Reeltown (13-1) at 3 p.m. Rebels coach Jackie O’Neal won the 200th game of his prep career in the quarterfinals and is now 201-89 overall.

The Class 6A championship clash closes out the Super 6 Friday night with Hoover (14-0) and Daphne (14-0) squaring off in a battle of unbeatens. The Bucs, riding a 21-game winning streak, have made the finals nine times from 2000-2010 with six state titles. Daphne is making its fourth appearance in the same time span.

This year’s playoffs mark the 27th year since the six-classification format was introduced in 1984. A four-class format was used during the first 20 years of the playoff that began in 1966. It is also the 14th year that all six championship games have been played at a neutral site–the first, however, at Auburn’s Jordan-Hare Stadium.

Prior to last year’s event at Bryant-Denny Stadium in Tuscaloosa, the Super 6 was played at Birmingham’s Legion Field from 1996-2008 with the exception of 2004 when four games were moved to Regions Park in Hoover a week later due to Hurricane Katrina.

The 2010 Super 6 Championships will be telecast live by CBS 42 over a statewide network and broadcast live statewide via the AHSAA Radio Network.




Hamilton (14-0) vs. Leeds (14-0), 11 a.m.


Sweet Water (11-3) vs. R.A. Hubbard (13-1), 3 p.m.


Briarwood Christian (13-1) vs. Spanish Fort (12-2), 7 p.m.

Friday’s schedule


Deshler (12-2) vs. Thomasville (14-0), 11 a.m.


Reeltown (13-1) vs. Leroy (13-1), 3 p.m.


Daphne (14-0) vs. Hoover (14-0), 7 p.m.