AHS holds fall banquet

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, December 8, 2010

Andalusia’s football and volleyball teams held their annual fall sports banquet Monday at the Bulldog Bistro.

Each program recognized players from all teams, along with players from each grade.

In addition, special awards were given to athletes that excelled during their sports’ respective season.


The Lady Bulldogs capped off a successful season making another appearance at the Class 4A Elite Eight tournament in Pelham.

Earlier in the season, the Lady Bulldogs were crowned area champions in Class 4A, Area 3 with a 3-0 win over Ashford, and finished as the No. 4 seed at the regional tournament.

After trailing 2-0 to Jemison at the sub-state tournament, the Lady Bulldogs mounted an impressive come back to win 3-2 over the Lady Panthers to stamp a ticket to the Elite Eight.

Andalusia finished with an 18-10 record.

Andalusia coach Angie Grimes recognized all players on the team, and presented each with a certificate.

Special awards categories for the volleyball team include the academic award, permanent team captains, defensive player of the year, offensive player of the year and most valuable player.

The following is a list of the players that received a special award along with the award category: Megan Pugh, academic award; A.C. Riley, Pugh and Ellie Pollock, permanent team captains; Alison Daniels, defensive player of the year; Riley, offensive player of the year; and Shi’Amber Townsend, most valuable player.

At the end of the volleyball portion of the banquet, the seniors presented Grimes with a banner indicating the 2010 home record for the Lady Bulldogs.


Andalusia’s varsity and junior varsity football teams were recognized by head coach Brian Seymore for their respective impressive seasons.

The varsity Bulldogs finished the season as the Class 4A, Area 2 champions, and finished their season 9-2 with a loss in the first round of the state playoffs.

The junior varsity team finished the year with a 3-1-1 record, and all players on both teams were given certificates.

The varsity team seniors were presented with their letter awards, a plaque and the home game day jerseys.

Special award categories for the varsity football team included the most improved offensive and defensive player awards, the offensive and defensive linemen awards, special teams award, academic award, Bulldog award, offensive and defensive most valuable players and permanent team captains.

The following is a list of the players that received a special award along with the award category: Steward Studstill, most improved offensive player award; Lakelyus Adams, most improved defensive player award; Jahkelus Mathews, offensive lineman award; Lex Bradley, defensive lineman award; Courey Hopkins, special teams award; Armon Momenpour, academic award; Nick White, Bulldog award; Derrick King, offensive MVP; Johnnie Jones and Jacard Townsend, defensive MVPs; and Keontae Freeney and Johnnie Jones, permanent team captains.