Auburn wins BCS title

Published 12:37 am Tuesday, January 11, 2011

Fred, Allie, Connie and Bethany Karthaus were among the happy Auburn fans out shopping for championship gear late last night.

Auburn University’s Tigers captured the national championship for the first time in 53 years last night, defeating No. 2 Oregon 22-19.

The game went to the wire, with the Tigers kicking 19-yard field goal as the clock ran out.

It was a once-in-a-lifetime experience for many Auburn fans, who weren’t alive the last time Auburn captured the football crown.

Fans who couldn't make it to Toomer's Corner rolled the court square in Andalusia.

It also was a victory for the state: the last time different teams from the same state won back-to-back championships was in 1938 and ’39, when TCU and Texas A&M were the big winners.

And it was a huge night for the SEC, for which Auburn claimed the fifth consecutive national title. Auburn follows Florida in 2006-07; LUS in 2007-08; Florida in 2008-09; and Alabama in 2009-10.

Minutes after the game was over, local fans were standing in line at local Hibbett’s Sporting Goods stores to buy championship T-shirts.