Cynosure Club visits Kirkpatrick Park

Published 12:00 am Saturday, May 14, 2011

Beautiful Kirkpatrick Park was the setting for the May year end meeting of the Cynosure Club.

Upon arrival members enjoyed sangria and an appetizer dip prior to being served a picnic meal of fruited chicken salad served in pastry shells, shrimp pasta salad, seasonal fruit, crackers and brown sugar and cinnamon mini-muffins.

The buffet table featured two “May baskets” filled with magnolia blooms and foliage. Vines of yellow jasmine were used on the tables and throughout the park pavilion.

Hostess Agnes Fowler welcomed members and, prior to returning thanks, offered a thoughtful and humorous tribute to charter member Clara Thagard and a toast to the members.

Other hostesses included Lucy Brady, Kathy Johnson, Arlene Nettles, and Danna Smith.

Following lunch, president Jeanie Metzger called the meeting to order and led in the reading of the club collect. The roll was called and minutes of the previous meeting were read by Joanne Boswell, secretary. Lucy Brady gave the treasurer’s report. Members voted to send a monetary donation to the Red Cross for aid to the tornado victims.

Parliamentarian Sharon Hobson then installed the 2011-2012 officers: Kelly Faulkner, president; Beth Taylor, vice-president; Suzanne Boyington, secretary; Carolyn Ricks, treasurer; Jeanie Metzger, parliamentarian; and Sylvia Meeks, historian.

Before adjourning the meeting, newly installed president Kelly Faulkner thanked Jeanie Metzger for an outstanding Cynosure year and advised her that a donation was made to the Andalusia Public Library in her honor.