City schools lose 16 employees

Published 12:04 am Thursday, May 26, 2011

Andalusia City Schools lost a total of 16 teachers and support personnel on Wednesday, but Superintendent Ted Watson said that’s not reflective of the system’s finances.

Across the state, boards were required to notify employees of any changes prior to the last day of school. Watson said Andalusia’s board acted out of caution, because the state education budget was not approved until yesterday morning.

The board accepted resignations from six employees, and non-renewed 10 employees at a special-called board meeting.

All but one of the resignations were retirements.

Despite the non-renewals, Superintendent Ted Watson said this is not a realistic picture of the school system’s financial situation.

“Since 2008 and the economy turned south, we had been warned about the impending 2012 budget,” he said. “We did not have a budget when we made this list. We had a choice, we could non-renew all non-tenured personnel or we could build in some cushion. We took a conservative approach to personnel. We hope to give a better look at a later date. Our goal is to replace some of the non-renewals.”

Watson said the school system is very fortunate.

“We’ve heard that 2012 was going to be doom and gloom,” he said. “This is what that is all about. We made a decision to address the monetary shortfalls. Making the final decisions was not something we entered into light-heartedly. We are in fact affecting people’s lives. The best thing for our kids is to keep teachers in the classroom.”

The board made the following personnel actions:

Accepted resignations from:

• John Beasley, retirement as math teacher at Andalusia High School;

• Susan Pitts, retirement as first grade math teacher at Andalusia Elementary School;

• Gwendolyn Sightler, retirement as cafeteria worker at AES;

• Cathy Harry, retirement as third grade teacher at AES;

• Amber Clark, resignation as paraprofessional at AES;

• Nancy Clark, retirement as bus driver for ACS

Granted tenure to:

• Teresa Herring, science teacher at AHS;

• Jonathan Rasberry, special education teacher at AHS;

• Brain Seymore, head football coach at AHS;

• Marcus Taylor, social studies teacher at AHS;

• Sharon Bulger, special education teacher at AMS;

• Marci Farley, seventh grade English teacher at AMS;

• Shelley Nall, first grade teacher at AES;

• Jenifer Earnest, fourth grade teacher at AES;

• Barbara Peek, fifth grade teacher at AES

Granted transfers to:

• Gloria Collier from curriculum coach to eighth grade social studies teacher;

• Lynn Starnes from second grade teacher to third grade teacher;

• Barbara Peek from fifth grade teacher to science teacher;

• Stephanie Nall from science teacher to third grade teacher;

• Lauren Lawson from special education teacher at AES to AMS special education teacher.


• David Kirkland, social studies teacher at AMS;

• Amy Caudle, special education teacher at AMS;

• Wanda Buckelew, eighth grade teacher at AMS;

• Carrie Browning, sixth grade reading teacher at AMS;

• Lisa Locklier, physical education teacher at AES;

• Vicki Riley, physical education teacher at AES;

• Malorie Wells, fifth grade teacher at AES;

• Katie Howell, paraprofessional at AES;

• Lacretica Hawkins, fourth grade teacher at AES;

• Latoya Sheridan, bus driver for ACS