County schools non-renew 3 contracts

Published 12:03 am Thursday, May 26, 2011

The Covington County Board of Education did not renew three contracts for next year.

Contracts for Janet Odom as special education teacher and Christopher Buckler as physical education teacher/head football coach at Florala High School and Scott Donaldson as JAG teacher/aide at Red Level High School were not renewed.

The board approved more than 30 other personnel actions, including,

At Straughn High:

• Susan G. Odom, retired as science teacher.

• Jennifer Echols, resigned as science teacher.

• Allison Farrington, hired as science teacher.

At Pleasant Home:

• Randy L. McGlaun, hired as assistant principal.

• Jacqueline Dubose, hired as elementary teacher.

• Amy Rolling, hired as elementary teacher.

At Red Level High School:

• Ruby Stanton, hired as elementary teacher.

• Heather Newman, transferred from first grade to kindergarten.

• Marilyn Daniels, transferred from elementary teacher to fifth and sixth grade language arts teacher.

• Rebecca P. Powell, transferred from elementary teacher to fifth and sixth grade science teacher.

• Melissa Nall, transferred from elementary teacher to fifth and sixth grade reading teacher.

• Kriston Bush, transferred from elementary teacher to fifth and sixth grade math teacher.

At Straughn Elementary:

• Jennifer Trull, hired as elementary teacher.

At Straughn Middle:

• Ida Sue Cumbie, transferred from reading at the elementary school to reading coach at SHS.

• Deidra Burelson, transferred from seventh grade English language arts teacher to eighth grade English language art teacher.

At W.S. Harlan:

• Kathii Lovelady, hired as elementary teacher.

Granted tenure to the following:

• Michael S. Buckelew, Fleeta Jr. High;

• Joseph D. Green, FHS;

• Joea McNeil, FHS;

• Jana Clark, FHS;

• Bradley Stephens, PHS;

• Leigh Grimes, RLES;

• Ashley Taylor, RLES;

• Monica Fallin, SES;

• Tammy Glidewell, SES;

• Wade Caudle, SHS;

• Lomax Taylor “Rusty” Andrews, SHS; and

• Stephanie Bryan, SHS.

Made the following support personnel changes:

• Kathy H. Warren, transferred from library media aid at RLHS to special education aide at RLES.

• Jeffery Chatman, hired as custodian at FHS.

• Jerry Stone, hired as custodian at WSH.

Granted non-probationary status to the following employees:

• Jamie Jackson, FHS;

• Karen Barton, SES;

• Tricia Livings, SMS;

• Sherry Griffin, SHS;

• Jerry Merrill, bus shop; and

• Sabrina Reynolds, board of education.