2011 All-County Class 3A-4A offense, defense

Published 12:04 am Saturday, December 17, 2011


On the offensive side of the ball, Andalusia makes up five slots on the team.

Opp’s T.J. Register was selected as the quarterback. He had 1,047 yards in the air, 11 touchdowns and six interceptions. He averaged 95.2 yards per game.

Straughn’s Chase Short and Andalusia’s Jacard Townsend were named the two running backs for the team. Short rushed for 742 yards on 110 carries and scored 13 touchdowns for the Tigers this season.

Andalusia’s Jahkelus Mathews, Nick White, Tyler Raines, Straughn’s Griffin Windham and Opp’s Jared Marler make up the offensive line.

On the receiving side of the ball, Opp’s Trent Finedore was named the tight end. The wide receivers are Andalusia’s David Mahaffey, Straughn’s William Worley and Opp’s Dane Buckelew. Mahaffey had 13 receptions for 224 yards and two touchdowns for the Bulldogs this season.

Honorable mentions

Andalusia’s Carlos Luckie, full back; and Andalusia’s Stewart Studstill, offensive line.



Defensively, Straughn’s Johnny Owens takes the top spot in the linebaker’s position. Andalusia’s Jacard Townsend and Opp’s Trey Short take the No. 2 and 3 spots, respectively. Townsend had 65 tackles, 14 sacks, caused three fumbles and one interception this season. Owens had 141 total total tackles.

Andalusia’s Catlin Jones, Straughn’s Dakota Hall, Andalusia’s Sam Byrd and Opp’s Trent Findeore make up the defensive line.

Straughn’s Zac Turvin, Andalusia’s Lakelyus “Fathead” Adams, Straughn’s Devin Scott and Andalusia’s Joe Flowers fill the defensive back positions on the team.

The punter is Andalusia’s CP Rogers, and the kicker is Andalusia’s Courey Hopkins. Rogers averaged 40.6 yards per punt for 812 total yards this season. He had 13 punts over 40 yards each. His long was 50 yards.

Honorable mentions

Andalusia’s Montel Lee, defensive line; and Andalusia’s Ethan Jones, linebacker.

The Class 3A-4A All-County football team was compiled by Star-News sports editor Andrew Garner. Andalusia, Straughn and Opp’s head coaches were invited to nominate players on the team.