Tea Party endorses candidates

Published 12:05 am Tuesday, March 6, 2012

The Common Sense Tea Party Patriots of Covington County has announced its endorsements for the March 13 primaries. All of the candidates endorsed are Republicans.

• President – Ron Paul.

• Chief justice, Alabama Supreme Court – Chuck Malone

• Associate justices – abstain

• Public Service Commission – Mary Kathy Peterson

• Covington County Commission chairman – Kylan Lewis

• County Commission, District 1 – Ken Northey

• County Commission, District 2 – Randall McCart

• County Commission, District 3 – Joe Bush

• County Commissioner, District 4 – Alan Lucas.

• State Board of Education – Jessica James

• Circuit Clerk – Stephanie Cotton

• Probate Judge – Ben Bowden

• Covington County School Board – abstain

Common Sense Tea Party Patriots of Covington County acting chairman Ron Hei said the organization asked each candidate to respond to a questionnaire, from which selections were made.

“I wish to thank all the candidates who responded to our questionnaire and know that our selection was not easy and in no way diminishes the validity of someone’s campaign because they were not selected,” he said. “Some selections were very close, but like the actual election process, the majority ruled. The sole basis of our selection was the review of questionnaire responses by our Tea Party membership, and their vote of conscience. To the best of our ability, we even telephone polled those who did not have email access.”