ASWA holds annual Mr., Miss Basketball banquet

Published 12:00 am Thursday, April 12, 2012

MONTGOMERY — Andalusia’s Alexis Horton and Jacard Townsend were among 42 of Alabama’s best basketball players Wednesday at the 2012 Alabama Sports Writers Association Mr. and Miss Basketball Awards Banquet.

Horton and Townsend didn’t claim the players of the year awards in Class 4A, but were in good company.

At the banquet, the girls and boys players of the year from each classification were presented, and then the Mr. and Miss Basketball awards were given out to the best players voted on by the ASWA prep committee.

The following is a list of the Players of the Year from each classification:

Alabama Independent School Association (AISA)

• Girls — Wilcox Academy’s Rachel Bell

• Boys — Lee-Scott Academy’s MarQuen Mitchell

Alabama High School Athletic Association (AHSAA)

Class 1A

• Girls — R.A. Hubbard’s Alex Gholston

• Boys — Cedar Bluff’s DeAngelo Hardy

Class 2A

• Girls — Section’s Taylor Adams

• Boys — Barbour County’s Takwain Whigham

Class 3A

• Girls — West Morgan’s Hayden Hamby

• Boys — Madison Academy’s Josh Langford

Class 4A

• Girls — Midfield’s Jasmine Steele

• Boys — Butler’s Justin Pride

Class 5A

• Girls — Sylacauga’s Shakayla Thomas

• Boys — Wenonah’s Derunnya Wilson

Class 6A

• Girls — Bob Jones’ Jasmine Jones

• Boys — Carver-Montgomery’s Craig Sword

The ASWA’s 2012 Mr. Basketball is Carver-Montgomery’s Craig Sword; and Miss Basketball is Bob Jones’ Jasmine Jones.