County BOE works to finalize staffing

Published 7:21 pm Tuesday, May 22, 2012

The Covington County School System worked Tuesday to finalize its personnel for the 2012-2013 school year.

In addition to approving an amended school calendar that mirrors new calendars adopted by the Andalusia and Opp city schools, the board voted on the following personnel changes:

At Florala High school, to employ Joshua Sheffer as band director;

At Fleeta Jr. High, Judy Waldorff resigned as math teacher;

At Pleasant Home, to transfer Sherry Kelley from fifth grade teacher to first grade teacher as well as Jamie F. Kelley from library media specialist to kindergarten teacher; and to approve the non-renewal of Donna Jean Rohan’s contract as special education teacher;

At Red Level, to accept the resignation of Lynn G. Zorn as social science teacher and Horace Ashley Graham as JAG teacher;

At Straughn Elementary, to accept the retirement of Katherine Ammons as special education teacher and to transfer Patricia Oates from fourth grade language arts teacher to fifth grade reading teacher.

The board also granted continuing status or “tenure” to the following certified personnel:

• Ensley Bolen at RLES;

• Jenna Grissett at SES;

• John Evers at SHS;

• Kenneth Skipper at SHS;

• Cara Adams at WSH;

• Alison Eubanks at WSH;

• Amanda Varnum at WSH;

Non-certified personnel:

• Deborah McKathan at PHS;

• Michael Cook at RLHS;

• Theresa Williams at RLHS;

• Kimberly Couch at SES;

• Tracie Hollinghead at SHS;

• Jason Norris at the bus shop.