Correro first SHS student named DYW

Published 12:03 am Tuesday, July 24, 2012

Covington County's Distinguished Young Woan winner for 2012 Mary Beth Correro.



S traughn’s Mary Beth Correro made history Saturday night becoming the first Distinguished Young Woman from Straughn High School.

Correro, who is a senior, said she was really surprised that she was the first in the school’s history.

“It is leaving a good legacy,” she said. “There’s been so many wonderful girls from Straughn to participate. There were so many good girls, and I’m glad I got to be the first.”

Correro said her mother and friends helped her prepare for the event.

“They helped me pray about it, and understand what I was about to go through,” she said. “I was prepared, but I wasn’t expecting to make a lasting impression on the judges.”

Correro won the overall competition and the self-expression category.

She also sang Nichole Nordeman’s “Legacy” in the talent portion.

“I’m really glad that I did it,” Correro said. “I would definitely encourage younger girls to get involved. I’ve had so much fun over the last week. It gets you in the mentality to do interviews and be your best self, think on your feet and be who you are.”

Correro said she’s met and made a so many good friends.

Correro said when her name was called as the new Covington County Distinguished Young Woman she was in shock.

“My mouth dropped and I stood there until I got a nudge,” she said.

Correro, who plans to attend the University of Alabama to become an educator, said she is excited about January’s state competition.

“I’ve talked to several of the other winners from years past,” she said. “They all tell me it’s going to be one of the best times of my life. I’m going to do my best.”

She is the daughter of Frank and Jeni Correro.

First alternate was AHS’s Meredith Grace Kerr; second alternate was AHS’s Reagan Eiland, who also won the scholastic category; third alternate was AHS’s Morgan Dove; and fourth alternate was OHS’s Savannah Gerber, who also won the fitness category.

Other category winners were OHS’s Ali Taylor, talent; AHS’s Jennifer Botta, interview; AHS’s Pierre Alexandra Johnson and RLHS’s Ansley Nicole Shipp, spirit award; and AHS’s Savannah Ricks, be your best self.