Edgar, Bartholomew in October runoff

Published 1:46 am Wednesday, August 29, 2012

Three out of five Opp races will be decided in an Oct. 9 runoff that has the potential to seat a whole new city administration.

In the mayor’s race incumbent Mayor H.D. Edgar and John Bartholomew will face each other in a runoff.

Edgar received 948 votes, or 46 percent; Bartholomew received 712 votes, or 34 percent; and councilman Jimmy Rogers received 413 votes, or 20 percent.

“I want to thank God first, and then my wife, family and friends,” Bartholomew said. “It was a great race, and I really appreciate all my voters. We have a lot of work ahead of us.”

Edgar agreed it was a good, clean race.

“We came up a little short,” he said after coming up nearly 90 votes short of a clear victory. “But we’re going to hit the ground running in the morning and do whatever we can to be victorious. I appreciate all the support I’ve received.”

In District 2, there will be a runoff between Sue Bowdoin and T.D. Morgan.

Morgan received 114 votes; Bowdoin received 104 votes; Holley Brundidge took 86 votes and Tommie Norris received 78 votes.

“I’m deeply honored to have the privilege to even be considered as a candidate in the runoff,” Morgan said. “I’m thankful for the support from friends and family.”

Bowdoin said she’s excited to be in the runoff, but said there’s a lot of work left to do.

“We’re going to get out there tomorrow and hit the streets,” she said. “I want to thank my supporters.”

In District 3, there will be a runoff between incumbent Mickey Crew and Mike Booth.

Crew received 199 votes; Booth received 187 votes and Aaron Baldwin received 27.

“I’m elated to be in the runoff, my first time running for office, against a man who has been in office for a while,” Booth said. “From the start, I said we were going to make an honest effort to make a difference.”

Attempts to contact Crew were not successful.

In District 4, Mary Brundidge won the council seat with 180 votes.

Mack Hines had 108 votes and Adrian Horstead had 55.

Attempts to contact Brundidge were not successful.

Arlin Davis defeated District 5 incumbent Oren Stewart by 200 votes.

Davis earned 393 votes to Stewart’s 193.

Bobby Ray Owens ran unopposed in District 1 and has already been certified as the winner.