County transfers properties

Published 12:00 am Thursday, November 1, 2012

Commissioners took care of a lot of loose ends Wednesday during their last meeting before the new administration is sworn in next week.

Among the items approved were the transfer of ownership of four infrastructure properties to other entities, a new lease agreement with the USDA and a new job description and classification list.

The outgoing commission also gave employees an added bonus – dental coverage at no cost.

“It’s always been what we could do for the employees, and anytime we can do something at no cost for them, it’s a good day,” said Commissioner David Ellis.

There is a cost associated with family coverage; however, the change is effective Jan. 1.

Commissioners also transferred ownership of the infrastructure items, as County Administrator Brenda Petty said the county only acted as the signing agent for the grants used to construct the properties. Since the county did not maintain the properties, commissioners approved to transfer:

• a storm water detention facility, 800 foot of 6-inch water main and a 20,000 gallon storage tank used for fire suppression at the South Alabama Regional Airport to the airport authority;

• sewer line to the City of Andalusia; and,

• the incubator building housing the Covington County Economic Development Commission to the CCEDC.

Commissioners also approved the following items:

• a new lease for the U.S. Department of Agriculture building increasing the rental fee from $11 per square-foot to $15 a square-foot.

• an increase in the solid waste fee charged to Allied Waste from $0.57 to $0.90. The fee was last set in 1993, Petty said.

• the appointment of Bragg Carter to the Covington Water Authority following the death of longtime member Frank Shufford.

• the purchase of three vehicles for the trash, patching and sign crews from the state bid list.

• a list adding all local banks to the list of county depositories.

Before adjourning, the commission wished the next administration luck.

“Thanks for letting me stay as long as I have,” said Carter, who is ending his 16th year on the commission.

Commissioners Carl Turman and Harold Elmore were re-elected for another term while Chairman Lynn Sasser and commissioners Ellis and Carter made their good-byes. Sasser will be replaced by newly elected chairman Bill Godwin, while Kenneth Northey and Joe Barton will fill the District 1 and 2 seats respectively.