Thomas named Mr. Football

Published 6:24 pm Wednesday, January 15, 2014

MONTGOMERY – Oxford’s Racean Thomas was named the 32nd recipient of the Alabama Sports Writers Association’s Mr. Football Award on Wednesday at the ASWA’s annual Player of the Year Awards luncheon, presented by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association. The annual luncheon was held at the Alabama Activity Center in Montgomery.

Thomas, a 5-11, 200-pound senior, fought injuries this season and still came away with 2,211 yards rushing and 32 touchdowns. The three-time ASWA first-team all-state selection finished his high school career with 6,169 yards rushing and 82 touchdowns. The Class 6A Back of the Year was selected for the Alabama-Mississippi All-Star Game and the Under Armour All-American Bowl and has committed to Auburn.

Thomas was a runaway winner, garnering 217 points and 15 of the 17 first-place votes from the ASWA prep committee. Calera’s Ronnie Clark, the Class 4A Back of the Year, was the runner up with 130 points, Class 6A Lineman of the Year, Rashaan Evans, of Auburn was third with 122, and Florence quarterback Kendrick Doss was fourth with 110 points. St. Paul’s linebacker Tre Williams was fifth with 96 points and one first-place vote, while Class 1A Back of the Year, Jermarcus Brown of Pickens County, was sixth with 91 points and a first-place vote.

All six players were selected for the ASWA Super 12 team, along with running back Keith Mixon of Shades Valley, quarterback Tyler Johnston of Spanish Fort, running back Nick Gibson of Pinson Valley, offensive lineman Jordan Sims of Homewood, running back Dantley Coker of Southside-Gadsden and linebacker Shaun Hamilton of Carver-Montgomery.

In winning the Mr. Football award, Johnson becomes the first winner from Calhoun County since running back Mac Campbell of Alexandria in 1997 and is the second running back chosen as Mr. Football in three years (Daphne’s T.J. Yeldon in 2011), but only third since 2000 (Carnell Williams of Etowah in 2000).