Williamson is POY finalist in 3A

Published 11:00 pm Saturday, March 22, 2014

Straughn's Jacie Williamson was selected as a finalist for the Player of the Year award in Class 3A. | Andrew Garner/Star-News

Straughn’s Jacie Williamson was selected as a finalist for the Player of the Year award in Class 3A. | Andrew Garner/Star-News

Straughn’s Jacie Williamson is a finalist for the Alabama Sports Writers Association’s Class 3A Girls Player of the Year basketball award.

A boys and girls Player of the Year from each of the seven classifications, including AISA, will be named at a banquet on April 16 in Montgomery. Additionally, Mr. and Miss Basketball will be revealed at the banquet.

The junior forward averaged 19.3 points, 9.2 rebounds and 1.6 assists per game this season, and helped lead SHS to its second straight Final 48 appearance. One of her many strengths came from the free-throw line, where she shot 73 percent.

Lady Tigers coach Scott Kinsaul said Williamson is a player would make sure the credit to her success goes to her teammates.

“Jacie’s a very good player, but she wouldn’t have done what she did without her teammates,” Kinsaul said. “You’ve got to give them a lot of credit, but of course you’ve got to give Jacie a lot of credit, too. She worked real hard. She stayed after it and shot free throws a lot. She worked on her post moves on her own before practice and after practice.

“Everything she got, she deserves,” he said. “I’m real proud of her. In addition to a great basketball player, she’s a great girl, great student and she’s just an All-American girl.”

There are 19 repeat finalists for this year’s Alabama Sports Writers Association high school basketball awards.

There are 10 girls and nine boys among this year’s 42 finalists who were in the 2013 group, too.

The full list of finalists in boys and girls is below:


Class 6A

Dazon Ingram, Theodore

Riley Norris, Albertville

Lewis Sullivan, Hazel Green

Class 5A

Justin Coleman, Wenonah

Marquell Oliver, Parker

Giddy Potts, Athens

Class 4A

William Lee, Dallas County

Danjel Purifoy, Bibb County

Steve Rogers, Brewbaker Tech

Class 3A

Chris English, Weaver

Joshua Langford, Madison Academy

Robert McGirt, Daleville

Class 2A

Cobe Goosby, Elba

Donta’ Hall, Luverne

Josh Thomas, Montgomery Academy

Class 1A

Wesley Person Jr., Brantley

Cletrell Pope, Sunshine

Andrew Rogers, St. Jude


Class 6A

Alexis Jennings, Sparkman

Tyler Phelion, Blount

Morgan William, Shades Valley

Class 5A

Jameka Holmes, Wenonah

Riley Northway, Brewer

Shakayla Thomas, Sylacauga

Class 4A

Quanetria Bolton, Anniston

Caroline Dodd, Carbon Hill

Destiney Elliott, Oneonta

Class 3A

Sierra Jones, Madison Academy

Malesha Williams, Greensboro

Jacie Williamson, Straughn

Class 2A

Miracle Mayo, Lanett

Kasey Sparks, Red Bay

Leah Strain, Woodland

Class 1A

Anna Claire Noblit, Covenant Christian

Amanhi Upshaw, Brantley

Jasmine Richardson, Winterboro