Taylor named to honor society

Published 12:01 am Wednesday, April 30, 2014

Former Huntingdon College quarterback and Straughn stand out Ryne Taylor was one of six football players from the Methodist college named to the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame’s Hampshire Honor Society on Tuesday.

Taylor was joined by 2014 selections Garrett Fletcher, running back; Dakota Hooper, defensive back; Cameron Lewis, long snapper, Tyler Robinson, receiver; and Ryan White, defensive back.

The six are among 838 other football players from 267 schools who qualified for membership in the Hampshire Honor Society. A total of 10 players were chosen from the state of Alabama.

Joining the Huntingdon players are Steven Clark (Auburn University), Cade Foster (University of Alabama), Will Scott (Troy University) and Bobby Wenzig (Alabama State University).

To be eligible for the Hampshire Honor Society, a player must have been a starter or significant contributor during their last year of eligibility at an accredited NCAA or NAIA institution, maintained a cumulative 3.2 GPA or better throughout their college careers and met all NCAA-mandated progress towards degree requirements and graduation.