100-year birthday party planned

Published 12:00 am Sunday, September 28, 2014

This year’s Andalusia High School homecoming weekend will feature a 100th birthday party for Andalusia City Hall.

Tourism and Relocation Committee chairwoman Jewel Curry said just like any good birthday party, the event will feature balloons and birthday cake.

But there also will be a look back at the facility constructed as both an elementary and high school in 1914-15.

According to local historians, E. Brown, then-superintendent of education, recommended the construction of the new school. The building was designed by architect Frank Galliher and built by Andalusia Manufacturing Co. The original construction cost for building and equipment was $100,000.

In 2003, the building was renovated as the new city hall.

Former East Three Notch principal Kim Dyess will share anecdotes about his tenure at the school.

AHS principal Dr. Daniel Shakespeare, who was a student at East Three Notch during integration, will speak on the importance of relationships.

Ted Watson, also a former East Three Notch principal and the current superintendent of education, also will talk about the former school. And Mayor Earl Johnson will discuss the building’s transformation to city hall.

A collection of photographs from the school also will be shown.

“There are so many things that are associated with the school,” Mrs. Curry said. A former East Three Notch student herself, she said she was proud to have both her children and some of her grandchildren also attend school there.

“Arlene Nettles started her recitals in the East Three Notch auditorium,” Mrs. Curry said. “Pee Wee football and Pee Wee cheerleaders both started out there.

“And there are some sweet stories we’ll hear about names carved in discreet places that are still in the building today,” Mrs. Curry said.

The birthday celebration starts with program at 10, on Sat., Oct. 4, and cake and punch will be served until 2 p.m., with the building open for tours.

Other Tourism and Relocation Committee members include Larry Avery, Martha Duggan, Gwen Kelley, Pat Palmore, Elaine Manning, Melissa Gambril, Barbara Nichols, Emma Locke, Mary Jane Winkler, and Louise Anderson.

Ex-officio members are Jerri Stroud, Kimberly Sasser, Barbara Tyler, Carla Mooney, Hazel Griffin, Chrissie Duffy, and Stephanie Moceri.