AMS athletes honored at football banquet Tuesday

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, October 22, 2014

1022 spt-SPT4

Andalusia Middle School held its annual football banquet Tuesday night. | Josh Dutton/Star-News

Tuesday night Andalusia Middle School hosted a banquet to honor the Bulldogs’ players, coaches and cheerleaders on their undefeated season. The banquet also honored head coach Tommy Wright who, after 28 years, is retiring from coaching.

“I was really proud of the way these guys played all year, but the game that stands out the most is the Troy game,” said Wright. “They were a much bigger and faster team than us, but these kids pulled together and that didn’t matter in the end and I always tell them that life is a lot like that and that there will always be bigger things to overcome.”

The Andalusia Middle School Bulldogs finished the season a perfect 5-0 and won the conference championship. It was one of Coach Wright’s seven undefeated seasons as head coach of the middle school Bulldogs. Wright had a career record of 73-10-1 while at AMS.

There was no shortage of kind words to be said about Coach Wright. “Coach Wright was the greatest inspiration on my youth and he has influenced many young boys and has molded them into men,” Brett Holmes said.

“Coach Wright’s impact reaches far beyond just Andalusia Middle School football,” Principal Vickie Anderson said.

Superintendent Ted Watson said, “These kids are so fortunate to have a coach like Tommy Wright.”

Wright was thankful for his time. “It has been an incredible time and thank you for letting me be apart of it,” Wright said.

Players receiving the 2014 Iron Man Award for not missing a day of practice; Jake Barefoot, Nick Creamer, Ryan Mays, Gabe Norris, Roosevelt Weaver, John Allen Wise, Derrick Alston, Cole Creamer and Jean Jones.

Players receiving the 2014 I Will Award; Dawson Jernigan, Derrick Alston and Blaine Stinson.

Players receiving 2014 All Conference Honors; Roosevelt Weaver, Garrett Davis, Jake Barefoot, J.W. Jones, Michael Lindsey, Cameo Stoudemire, Brennan Strong, Andrew Holmes and Keontel Marshall.