Brantley’s Upshaw, Luverne’s Hall named ASWA players of year

Published 5:58 pm Thursday, April 2, 2015

MONTGOMERY – Huntsville’s Shaquera Wade and Theodore’s Dazon Ingram won the Alabama Sports Writers Association’s Miss and Mr. Basketball awards on Thursday. The awards were presented by the Alabama High School Athletic Directors and Coaches Association.



Mr. and Miss Basketball, which signify the state’s top boys and girls players, were named at a luncheon in downtown Montgomery at the Alabama Activity Center. Also named were the Super 5 boys and girls teams along with each classification’s player of the year

Wade, a 5-11 senior forward/guard, averaged 18.4 points and 10.8 rebounds in leading the Panthers to the Class 7A semifinals. It was Huntsville’s second state semifinal appearance in three years. Wade is a University of Alabama signee.

Named to the girls Super 5 along with Class 7A Player of the Year Wade were Class 6A Player of the Year Cierra Johnson of Blount, Class 7A Jeff Davis’ Jasmine Walker, Class 6A Austin’s Tyra Johnson and Class 5A Player of the Year Kaitlyn Rodgers of Wenonah.

Ingram, a 6-5 senior guard, scored 20.6 points, grabbed 10.5 rebounds and shot 55 percent for the Class 7A Bobcats. Theodore reached the state semifinals for the first time in school history.



Class 7A Player of the Year Ingram heads the boys Super 5 along with Class 3A three-time Player of the Year Joshua Langford of Madison Academy, Class 5A Player of the Year John Petty of J.O. Johnson, Class 6A Player of the Year Lawson Schaffer of Cullman and Class 7A Spain Park’s Austin Wiley.

Wade is the 28th Miss Basketball while Ingram is the 31st Mr. Basketball. The Alabama Sports Writers Association first selected Mr. Basketball in 1985 and Miss Basketball in 1988.

Wade becomes the first player from Huntsville High School to earn Miss Basketball and the third from Madison County in seven years, joining Jasmine Jones (Bob Jones, 2012) and Jala Harris (Bob Jones, 2009).

Ingram is the first Theodore player selected Mr. Basketball and fourth from the Mobile area to win the award, joining Kennedy Winston (Blount, 2002), Sam Haginas (UMS-Wright, 1998) and Queintonia Higgins (Fairhope, 1989).



CLASS 7A: Shaquera Wade, Huntsville

CLASS 6A: Cierra Johnson, Blount

CLASS 5A: Kaitlyn Rodgers, Wenonah

CLASS 4A: Lauren Cantrell, Deshler

CLASS 3A: Emma Wallen, Lauderdale County

CLASS 2A: Lacy Stafford, Geneva County

CLASS 1A: Amahni Upshaw, Brantley

AISA: Kasey Grant, Lakeside



CLASS 7A: Dazon Ingram, Theodore

CLASS 6A: Lawson Schaffer, Cullman

CLASS 5A: John Petty, J.O. Johnson

CLASS 4A: Jaylen McCoy, St. James

CLASS 3A: Joshua Langford, Madison Academy

CLASS 2A: Donta’ Hall, Luverne

CLASS 1A: Walter Jones Jr., Sunshine

AISA: Malik Pettus, East Memorial




Shaquera Wade, Huntsville, 75 points (10 firsts)

Cierra Johnson, Blount, 49 (3)

Jasmine Walker, Jeff Davis, 24

Tyra Johnson, Austin, 15

Kaitlyn Rodgers, Wenonah, 15


Dazon Ingram, Theodore, 65 (6)

Joshua Langford, Madison Academy, 60 (5)

John Petty, J.O. Johnson, 34 (1)

Lawson Schaffer, Cullman, 24

Austin Wiley, Spain Park, 17 (1)