AHS honors basketball, cheerleaders at banquet

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, April 8, 2015


Andalusia’s boys and girls basketball teams and cheerleaders were honored with a banquet at the Bulldog Bistro on the campus of Andalusia High School Monday night.




Players, coaches, cheerleaders and their parents were present for the dinner and awards presentation.




The cheerleaders were the first to be honored and they were presented awards from cheer sponsor Tamika Burns.




Two cheerleaders from each grade level received awards for academics and leadership.




For the freshman, Destini DuPree received the academic award, and Anna Ballard received the leadership award.




The sophomore winners were Aaliyah Lawrence for the Academic Award, and Lillian Andrews was presented with the leadership award.




Ashlen Payton was the junior class academic award winner, and Peyton Prevett was given the leadership award. Prevett also received the Spirit Award. Eleventh grader Bethany Karthaus was presented with a new award called the big sister award. Burns said that Karthaus the like the mom of the group, and took all the younger girls under her wings.




Shelby Meeks was the senior academic award winner, and Haley Snider received the senior leadership award.




In girls’ basketball, sisters Alexis and Aaliyah Lawrence earned the offensive and defensive player of the year awards, respectively. Jamie Blue won the academic award for highest grade point average, and Kimberly Landrum won the coaches award. Alexis was also presented with the captain award.




Senior DeVante Jackson and freshman B.J. Anderson were the big winners of the night on the boys’ side.




Anderson earned the award for highest free throw percentage, and also received the newcomer of the year Award.




Jackson picked five pieces of hardware including the academic award, most dependable, most points, most rebounds and the captain award.




Jackson was named a Captain Award recipient along with fellow seniors Kendarius Townsend and Devion Morrisette.




Trevor Parker and Townsend also received defensive player of the year awards.