SAS race benefits Crossover

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, June 10, 2015




South Alabama Speedway held its third Annual Crossover Night this past Saturday.

The night benefitted Crossover Ministry. Admission was free, with a donation of goods, or money, to faith-based recovery ministry located in Opp. Once again, with the fans and drivers help, the night was a huge success. According to Crossover Ministry, the donations exceeded the previous year’s donations. South Alabama Speedway thanks all of the sponsors that helped make the night possible. Also, the track really appreciates the fans and drivers that donated food, goods and money.


The headline event for the night was the Pro Late Model Viper Series Diamondback 100. Justin South dominated the event, leading 90 laps. Hunter Robbins grabbed the lead from the outside pole and led the first 10 laps. South started third and moved into second on lap six.

Four laps later, he moved inside of Robbins to take the lead.

South stretched the lead until the race was slowed on lap 36. The race went green from that point and South pulled away from the field and cruised home with his first win at South Alabama Speedway. Mike Garvey dropped to the rear of the field for the start, but came back to finish second. Robbins was third at the finish, followed by Dwayne Buggay and Korey Ruble.


Mario Lupi picked up his first win at South Alabama Speedway, capturing the Modified feature. David Capps and Chris Salter kept the pressure on Lupi every lap, but Lupi was able to keep them both behind him to take the win. Capps ended up with the runner up trophy. Chris Cotto got past Salter to take third. Salter was fourth with Adam Salter fifth.


Jamie Ater picked up the win in the Super Stock Feature. Ater led all 25 laps to take the win over Dustin Knowles. Knowles got a late shot at Ater when the yellow flew on lap 24. Ater got a good restart and eased away to take the win. Corbitt Moseley came the seventh starting spot, and overcame a flat tire, to take third place. Kenny Parker was fourth with Ken Pettis fifth.


In the Street Stock Feature, Gary Davis came from the ninth starting spot to take the win. Justin Killian grabbed the early lead from the pole. Killian led the first nine laps before experiencing mechanical problems and retiring. Billy Maxie had been on Killian’s bumper and took the lead.

Meanwhile, Davis was making his way through the field and moved inside of Maxie on lap 12 to take the lead. Davis led the rest of the way to take the win. Johnny Otto came from the tenth starting spot to finish second. Otto was closing on Davis as laps ran out. Daniel Parker was third with Maxie fourth and Brandon Burks fifth.


Kim Bishop took the lead on the second circuit and went on to win the Roadrunner Feature. Joey Deaton got the jump on the start and grabbed the initial lead. That lead lasted only one lap before Bishop took over. Bishop survived four restarts during the race, but each time, Bishop eased away from his competition. The last restart came with three laps to go and gave Jason Kendrick one last shot at Bishop. Bishop was up to the task and led Kendrick to the checkers. Tim Peters came from the 12th starting spot to finish third. Michael Hurst was fourth and Danny Monaghan fifth.


In an exciting Coyote Feature, David Williams finally took the checkers first. Williams had been awarded victories a couple of times after disqualifications in post race inspection, but this was his first on track win. Danny Thompson had led all but the first lap with Williams chasing. Williams made his move on lap twenty, diving inside of Thompson going into turn three. There was heavy contact with Williams emerging the leader out of turn four. Williams led the rest of the way to take the win.  Thompson crossed the line second, but didn’t make it through post race inspection. Ralph Sanders moved up to second, followed by Wesley Goleman, Darrell Cawley, Jr., and Tim Richardson.


Jack Whittle picked up another win in the CupLite Feature. Shep Lucas was cruising out front , but slowed on lap 12. Whittle had just moved past Rick Northey for second and took the lead when Lucas slowed. Whittle led the rest of the way with Northey in tow. Mack Byrd was third with Carroll Williams fourth and Waylon Spivey fifth.


Randy Henderson took the lead on lap nine and went on to win the Mini Sportsman Feature. Kaleb Howell led the first lap with Jared Howell tasking over on the second lap. Keith Hutchinson took over two laps later. Hutchinson led the next five laps before Henderson cruised by on the outside to take the lead. Henderson led the rest of the way. Hutchinson was second. Daniel Parker was third, Johnny Childree fourth, and Jared Howell fifth.


Action continues at South Alabama Speedway on June 20 with a full schedule of local racing. For more information, contact the track at 334-565-3539, or visit the track’s web site at