15U state tournament begins July 4

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, July 1, 2015

The 15U Babe Ruth state tournament will be held July 4-7 at the Opp Sportsplex.

The tournament will begin with a nine-team pool play beginning on Saturday. Nine teams will be split into three divisions. Black division will include Sylacauga, West Alabama and South Huntsville. Gold division will include Mims Park, Brewton and Wetumpka. White division will include Tallassee, Opp and Monroe County.

Saturday’s games will begin with Sylacauga and West Alabama at 9 a.m. Tallassee and Opp will square off at 11:30 a.m. Mims Park and Brewton will begin at 2 p.m. West Alabama and South Huntsville will play at 4:30 p.m. and the final game of the evening will be Opp and Monroe County at 7 p.m.

Sunday’s action will begin at 11:30 a.m. with Brewton and Wetumpka. South Huntsville and Sylacauga will play at 2 p.m. Monroe County and Tallassee will begin at 4:30 p.m. The final pool play game will be Wetumpka and Mims Park at 7 p.m.

The top two teams from each division will go on to play six-team single elimination tournament beginning Monday.

The top two seeded teams will have a bye in the first round of the single elimination tournament.