Straughn, Opp enter season in top 10

Published 12:00 am Thursday, August 6, 2015

0806-spt-AHS 0806-spt-SHS

The Alabama Sports Writers Association released its 2015 preseason football poll on Tuesday, and two Covington County schools found their way into the top 10 in their respective classifications.


Following a successful 9-4 season under first year coach Brent Hill, the Opp Bobcats come in as the highest ranked team in the county as they grabbed the No. 4 spot in Class 3A.


Madison Academy took the top spot in Class 3A after winning the 2014 3A state championship.


Gordo, the team that knocked Opp out of the playoffs in the third round of the playoffs, will begin the season at the No. 2 ranked team.


T.R. Miller, who host Andalusia to begin the season, enters the seasons as the No. 7 ranked team.


Piedmont is No. 3, Colbert County is No. 5, Slocomb is No. 6, Pike County is No. 8, Walter Wellborn is No. 9 and Oakman rounds out the top 10.


In Class 4A, the Straughn Tigers will enter the season at the No. 10 ranked team after a successful 10-2 season, in which the Tigers made it to the third round of the state playoffs.


The Tigers will be under new leadership this season as Chris Wilson begins his first season as Straughn’s head coach.


Andalusia received 27 votes, but didn’t quite crack the top 10 to open the season.


Leeds takes the No. 1 spot in Class 4A following a state championship in 2014.


UMS-Wright, who knocked Straughn out in the third round of the 2014 playoffs, grabs the No. 2 ranking.


Cordova starts a the No. 3 team, Dadeville is No. 4, Fayette County is No. 5, Saks is No. 6, North Jackson is No.7, Deshler is No. 8 and Cleburne County is No. 9.


In class 1A, no Covington County teams cracked the top 10, but Red Level received three votes.


2014 state champions Maplesville comes in as the No. 1-ranked team in Class 1A, and Brantley begins at No. 2.


Hubbertville begins at No. 3, Linden is No. 4, Notasulga is No. 5, Spring Garden is No. 6, Cedar Bluff is No. 7, Billingsley is No. 8, Loachapoka and Marion County come in with 65 votes each to tie for the No. 9 spot.