31 license offices closed

Published 9:53 pm Wednesday, September 30, 2015

Five offices in the region are among the 31 driver’s license satellite operations the state plans to close, the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency announced Wednesday.

All of the offices being closed are operated in locations not owned by the state. They include offices in Luverne, Brewton, Geneva, and Greenville. Andalusia’s office is not affected by the closings.

Effective this week, driver’s license examiners who travel will be relocated to staff district driver’s license offices full time, the ALEA said.

The changes do not affect residents’ ability to renew their licenses, which is done in probate office of each of Alabama’s 67 counties.

ALEA’s budget was cut by $11 million this year.