Capps takes Modified Crown

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, October 7, 2015

David Capps picked up a win on Saturday night.

South Alabama Speedway crowned three Track Champions Saturday night. After another exciting night of racing, championships were decided in the Modified, Coyote, and CupLite classes.

In the Modified Championship race, David Capps led the way in qualifying, then led all 30 laps of the feature. The front four ran nose to tail for most of the race, with Chris Cotto glued to Capps’ bumper, followed by Heath Mills and Lance Blacker. Cotto ran Capps clean, but put a bumper to him a couple of times, trying to loosen the leader up. Capps stayed his course, though, and led Cotto and Mills to the checkers. Charlie Roberts got past Blacker with three laps to go to finish fourth. With the win, Capps claimed the 2015 Modified Championship.

While the Coyote Championship was already decided before the race, the race wasn’t decided until after the race. Ralph Sanders set fast time in qualifying and led the first 15 laps of the 45 laps race. Wesley Goleman took over on lap 13 and led until the yellow flew on lap 24. Sanders retook the lead on the restart and led the final 21 laps to take the checkers first, ahead of Goleman, Jonathan Johnson, James Faulk, and Keith Missildine. However, Sanders was disqualified in post race inspection for having altered strut towers. Goleman was awarded the win, and everybody moved up a spot in the results. Cory Bullock moved into the top five. Luckily for David Williams, he had already clinched the championship going into the race. Williams blew his engine in an afternoon hot lap session and was unable to start the feature.

Jack Whittle pretty much had the CupLite Championship sewn up headed into Saturday night’s feature. Whittle erased any doubt, turning fast time in qualifying and leading all 25 laps to win the race and secure the championship. Rick Northey kept Whittle close, but could never mount a serious bid for the lead. Charlie Hercus was third, followed by Dylan Northey and Karl Williams.

In the Street Stock Feature, Travis Slawson took the lead on lap 14 and held off a trio of challengers to take the win. Billy Maxie grabbed the lead from the pole and led the first 13 laps before Slawson was able to work his way inside to take the lead. While Slawson led the rest of the way, Maxie, Justin Killian, and Johnny Otto were nipping at his rear bumper. Killian was able to get past Maxie with two laps to go, but Maxie fought back. As Slawson led the foursome off of turn four on the final lap, Maxie jumped to the inside of Killian. There was contact between Killian and Maxie with both sliding to the stripe. Otto jumped to the outside to try and steal second. Slawson eased across the stripe ahead the battle behind him. Killian beat Maxie to the line to take second. Otto’s outside bid came up a fender short and he settled for fourth. Daniel Davis was fifth.

In the Roadrunner Feature, Jake Daniels worked his way inside of Danny Monaghan on lap 16 and went on to take the win. Monaghan led the first 15, but couldn’t hold off Daniels. Monaghan held on to finish second. Charles Gardner came from the 12th staring spot to finish third. Michael Hurst and Mike Wolfe rounded out the top five.

In the Mini Sportsman Feature, Jared Howell took over the point when Keith Hutchinson fell off the pace with six laps to go. Hutchinson grabbed the lead from the outside pole and built a large lead before slowing on lap 14. Howell led the field past Hutchinson and held off Terry Brown for the win. Randy Henderson was third, followed by Caleb Howell and Aaron Wolfe.

Action continues on October 17 with the season finale, the Alabama Pro, a 125-lap Pro Late Model event. Also on the night’s schedule is the Modified of Mayhem Tour. The Modifieds will are scheduled for a 50-lap Feature, and Championship races are scheduled for the Street Stock and Roadrunner classes.

For more information, contact the track at 334-565-3539, or visit the track’s web site at