Published 12:38 am Saturday, March 26, 2016


Three competitive cheer teams from Andalusia Dance and Tumbling earned top awards at the Worldwide Spirit Association in New Orleans last weekend.

Coach Katie Poole explained that students audition for the teams each May, and practice year-round.

“Got to be hard-working, because we practice four hours a week, and throughout the summer,” Poole said. “We run, we condition; we tumble a lot; and they lifting people. It’s hard work. They have to be dedicated, and their family does, too.”

0326 starz

Several girls have spots on multiple local teams, Poole said, adding that the teams are ranked by age and skills sets. Youth level 1 completes with walk-overs and stunts; youth level 2 with handsprings and stunts; junior level 3 with more tumbling.

The NOLA event was a qualifying event for The One finals, and the local teams qualified. However, the competition date conflicts with the school’s local dance recital, April 29 and 30, so they have chosen not to advance this year.


Sparkling Starz (Youth Level 1) placed third out of nine teams. Team members include Caroline Pettie, Catherine Pettie, Tatum Reeves, Jayden Lambert, Graycie Sansom, Peyton Walden, Anna Kate Harrison, Emmy Harrison, Kailey Jackson, Macie Walden, Audrey Lindsey, Kendyl Harkins, Annistyn Page, Lexi Bush, Brynn Palmer and Tess Smith.

Shooting Starz (Youth Level 2) placed third out of four teams. Team members include Caroline Pettie, Catherine Pettie, Caylee Clark, Mallory Fountain, Taylor Lawson, Sarah Beth Grimes, Helena Cotton, Lily Jo Elmore, Jessa Ann Dubose, Kyleigh Curry, McKenzie Barrow, Jaidyn Lambert, Sam Lawson, Kinsley Stovall, Addyson Boutwell, Ella Colvin, Annie Park, Sophie Donaldson, Karleigh Sanders, and Aspen Carter.

Shining Starz (Junior Level 3) placed second out of seven teams. Team members include Catherine Pettie, Katie Jackson, Olivia Cravey, Ella Grace Wood, Kalli Grace Turman, Peyton Huckabba, Anna Kate Harrison, Aubree Caldwell, Marion Bradley, Victoria Ainsworth, Macie Walden, Bess Worley, Eryanna Sheridan, Jaiden Davis, and Madison Henley.

Kirby Sewell and Lorren Cooper also coach the teams.