Locals qualify for municipal elections

Published 12:09 am Wednesday, July 6, 2016

Qualifying opened for municipal elections at city halls Tuesday.

There was little turnout, but city clerks were optimistic that the pace would pick up this week.

In Andalusia, five people qualified on Tuesday. Mayor Earl Johnson, and council members Will Sconiers (District 1), Kenneth Mount (District 2), and Hazel Griffin (District 3) all qualified to seek reelection. Jared Eastman also qualified to seek the office of mayor.

The mayor’s office and all council seats are open, as well as board of education seats two and four, currently held by Amy Dugger and Bill King.

In Opp, Wayne Wood, TD Morgan and John Bartholomew, incumbent, qualified for mayor; Debbie King and Bobby Ray Owens, incumbent, in district 1; Charlotte Jones Hunt qualified for city council district 2; Mike Booth qualified in district 3; Lavaughn Hines and Mary Brundidge in district 4 and Arlin Davis qualified for district 5.

Merrill Culverhouse qualified for BOE in district 3.

In Opp, the mayor’s office and all council seats are also open, as well as board of education seats three and five, currently held by Becky Bracke and Rothel Moody.

In Florala, Terry Holley and Marvin Williford have qualified for mayor. In district 1, Odessa Vaughn and Charles “Chuck” Willis qualified and in district 5, Evan Robbins qualified.

The mayor and all council seats are up for grabs.

In Lockhart, Eugene Birge qualified for mayor and Willie Tolles for council seat place 2.

In Red Level, Willie J. Hendrix qualified for mayor.

In Babbie, Chris Caldwell qualified for mayor; Sue Capps, Paul Capps, Robert Rogers, Carlis Farley and Wayne Williamson qualified for council at-large seats.

In River Falls, Gantt, Libertyville and Carolina, no one had qualified yet.

There was no answer at Sanford, Heath or Onycha.