2 council, 1 BOE seat up for grabs

Published 3:05 am Saturday, August 20, 2016

Florala voters will elect a new mayor for the first time since 2008 on Tuesday.

Three people are vying for the job being vacated by Robert Williamson, who is completing two terms, opted not to seek reelection.

Candidates include Terry Holley, a retired educator who served as superintendent of county schools, and who is on the town’s industrial development board; Justin Jackson, who works for InDyne at Eglin Air Force Base; and Marvin Williford, who currently serves on the council and previously also served on the city’s utilities board.

In a recent forum, each candidate stressed the need to clean up the town, focus on Lake Jackson as a draw to the community, and establish some sort of incubator program for small businesses.

The town has three council races on the ballot, and only one returning council member.

In District 1, Odessa Vaughn, Chuck Willis and Sylvia Ann Wallace-Patton are seeking election.

In District 2, Mike Cheshire and Gayle Robbins seek office.

In District 5, Sue Mathis will face Evan Robbins.

In District 3, incumbent Deborah Inabinett will be on the ballot against Abby Spillman. Spillman has withdrawn from the race, but did so after the ballots were printed.

In District 4, Jeff Burleson was unopposed.