Municipal elections are today

Published 12:54 am Tuesday, August 23, 2016

The long-awaited municipal election is here.

Polls are open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m., in Andalusia, Opp, Florala and River Falls.

In Andalusia, two council seats and one board of education seat is up for grabs. Voting is at the Kiwanis Community Center.

District 2: Kennith Mount, incumbent, versus Buster Boyd

District 3: Hazel Griffin, incumbent, versus Eddie Lewis;

Board of Education: Bill King, incumbent, versus Tommy Wright


In Opp, the mayor’s seat and all five council seats are contested.

Mayor: John Bartholomew, incumbent; T.D. Morgan, Becky Bracke, Deborah Dean, Wayne Wood, Mack Whatley, Haywood Nawlin

District 1: Bobby Ray Owens, incumbent; Debbie King and Chad Jackson

District 2: Holley Brundidge; Charlotte Hunt and Jimmy Rogers

District 3: Mike Booth, incumbent; Gary Strickland and Mickey Denault;

District 4: Mary Brundidge, incumbent; Mack Hines, Henry McCord, Morris Smiley and LaVaughn Hines

District 5: Arlin Davis, incumbent; and Skipper Spurlin



In Florala, the mayor’s seat and three of the five seats have an election.

In District 4, Jeff Burleson ran unopposed, and in District 5, Deborah Inabinett, incumbent, was set to face Abby Spillman, but Spillman withdrew from the race, after ballots were printed.

Mayor: Terry Holley, Justin Jackson and Marvin Williford;

District 1: Odessa Vaughn, Chuck Willis and Sylvia Ann Wallace-Patton;

District 2: Mike Cheshire and Gayle Robbins

District 3: Sue Mathis and Evan Robbins



In River Falls, only the mayor’s seat was contested.

Mayor: Patricia Gunter, incumbent; and James Longmire.


The Star-News will have complete election coverage in Wednesday’s newspaper and will update online on Facebook and on the Star-News website as totals are announced.