Covington County officially in drought

Published 1:46 am Tuesday, November 15, 2016

Covington County is one of 12 counties in south Alabama that have been placed under Drought Emergency status in the latest Alabama Drought Declaration issued Monday.

The declaration followed the latest meeting of the Alabama Drought Monitoring and Impact Group. The Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs’ Office of Water Resources issued the revised declaration in accordance with the Alabama Drought Planning and Response Act of 2014. The declaration is based on a review of current and anticipated conditions and reported impacts, including rainfall, streamflow, reservoir and groundwater levels.

Other counties added to the Drought Emergency status, were:

  • Region 5: Choctaw, Clarke, Dallas, Marengo, Monroe, Washington and Wilcox
  • Region 7: Butler, Conecuh, Covington, Crenshaw and Escambia

“Well into November, we are continuing to see widespread rainfall deficits and declining streamflow and groundwater levels with no short-term relief in the forecast,” said Tom Littlepage, manager of OWR’s Water Management Unit. “With 58 Alabama counties now listed under Drought Emergency status, we urge water managers to continue carefully monitoring their water sources and implement water conservation measures as needed.”

In other areas of the state, Region 9 in coastal Alabama moved to Drought Warning status – the second most severe category – and Region 8 in southeast Alabama remained in Drought Warning status.

“Drought is a silent disaster that can slowly put a strain on our water resources and impact a wide range of people and industries,” ADECA Director Jim Byard Jr. said. “As dry conditions persist, ADECA is continually working with our partners to monitor the latest data and impacts. We will remain in regular contact with local water systems and continue to issue updated drought declarations as conditions warrant.”