AKA awards scholarships to area students

Published 11:39 pm Tuesday, June 13, 2017

The Community Advancement Foundation (CAF) in partnership with Kappa Pi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., recently held its annual Pink Hat Scholarship Program at Poplar Springs Baptist Church, New Brockton.

The program provides high school seniors in the Wiregrass the opportunity to compete for scholarship money via public speaking.

The students had to write a speech, demonstrate preparatory efforts, and deliver the speech in a time span of five to seven minutes.

Ashlan Kelley, Pleasant Home High School, was the winner of the first-place $1,500 scholarship. Jaelin Fleming of Northview High School won second place and the $1,000 scholarship. Kirethia Chambers of Abbeville High School won third place and the $750 scholarship. Kenyetta Stephens, Daleville High School, and Skylar Faison, Goshen High School, each won a $100 book scholarship.

In addition to the oratorical scholarship, Kappa Pi Omega Chapter also offers the HBCU Legacy Scholarship, which was created to comply with the sorority’s international program, “Think HBCU.” The student must attend a historically black college or university. Three $1,000 scholarships were awarded this year.

Dorothy L. Smith is president of Kappa Pi Omega Chapter, Linda Garrett is president of CAF, and Barbara Cole serves as chair of the scholarship committee.

Other members of the scholarship committee are Crystal Benson, LaKesha Brackins, Wennifer Cameron, Tara Davenport, Essie Dubose, Katrina Faulk, Diane Flournoy, Wanda Flowers, Sheila Goodman, Scharona Grimsley, Valerie Harmon, Vanessa Johnson, Catherine Jordan, Charlene Kearse, Paulette Love, Brenda Peacock, Vicki Robinson, Ann Shakespeare, Dolores Simmons, Cynthia Thomas, Teresa Townsend, and Agnes Windsor.