Candidates qualify for 2018 races

Published 8:44 am Friday, January 19, 2018


Several candidates have qualified to seek office in the 2018 elections, but to date, only two local officials have opposition for election.

Circuit Judge Charles A. “Lex” Short, who has served as circuit judge since 2001, has qualified to seek re-election; Short, also a Republican, is not expected to have any opposition.

Both Rep. Mike Jones Jr., R-Andalusia, and Sen. Jimmy Holley, R-Elba, have qualified for re-election. Neither has opposition at this time.

Amy W. Jones, a Republican, also has qualified to seek reelection as circuit clerk.

Probate Judge Stacy Brooks has qualified with the Covington County Republican Party to seek re-election.

Incumbent Dennis Meeks and Blake Turban have qualified to run for sheriff on the GOP ticket. Earlier announced challengers, Nick Carnley and Terry Craig, have yet to qualify.

John Thomasson has qualified for re-election for his spot on the Covington County School Board and Jenny Rogers has qualified to oppose him.

U.S. Rep. Martha Roby, who represents Alabama’s 2nd Congressional District, including Covington County, in Washington, has qualified for re-election. Alabama State Rep. Barry Moore, R-Enterprise, has qualified to challenge her in the Republican primary. Rich Hobson, also a Republican, has announced his intent to seek the office, but has not qualified.

On the Democratic side, Tabitha Isner is seeking the nomination for the U.S. House of Representatives seat.

Qualifying will end on Fri., Feb. 9, 2018, at 5 p.m.

Those wishing to qualify for local races as Republicans should contact Covington County Republican Party Chairman William Blocker at 334-804-5106.

Those wishing to qualify as Democrats should contact Covington County Democratic Party Chairman Billy Hughes at 334-473-8458.