Qualifying ends; 8 unopposed

Published 1:25 am Saturday, February 10, 2018

Sheriff only local official being challenged in June primary

Qualifying for this year’s political primaries ended yesterday, and eight elected officials managed to avoid being challenged in their bids for reelection.

Those officials, all Republicans, include:

  • Circuit Clerk Amy W. Jones
  • Circuit Judge Charles A. “Lex” Short
  • State Rep. Mike Jones
  • State Sen. Jimmy Holley
  • Probate Judge Stacy Brooks
  • County BOE member John “Sonny” Thomasson
  • County BOE member Jimmy Rodgers
  • Coroner Norman Hobson

Sheriff Dennis Meeks, seeking a fourth term, wasn’t quite so lucky, as he has two challengers for the Republican nomination. Both Blake Turman and Nickey Carnley are seeking the office. A third announced candidate, Terry Craig, withdrew from the race earlier this week.

Martha Roby, who represents the 2nd Congressional District of Alabmaa in the U.S. Congress, also drew several challengers. Others seeking the Republican nomination include Bobby Bright, the former Montgomery mayor who held the seat before Roby; Barry Moore, the representative for Coffee County in the Alabama House of Representatives; longtime Roy Moore associate and former Andalusia resident Rich Hobson; and Army Command Sergeant Major Tommy Amason.

Tabitha Isner and Audri Scott Williams are seeking the Democratic nomination for the Congressional seat.

Three local Republicans are running for two seats on the State Executive Committee. Anne Christensen has qualified for the first seat, and Steven King and Wyley D. Ward have qualified to run for the second seat.

Party primaries will be June 5.