PTK inducts 66 new members at LBWCC

Published 12:00 am Wednesday, March 7, 2018

LBW Community College in Andalusia recently held a spring semester induction ceremony for 66 eligible students into the Alpha Beta Eta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) international honor society.

Requirements include a 3.5 grade point average or above, full-time student, good citizenship, and high moral standards.

PTK recognizes academic achievement and provides opportunities for individual growth and development through honors, leadership and service programming. It is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2.5 million members and 1,275 chapters around the world.

Guest speaker William Alverson, attorney-at-law, told inductees to use their membership as a way to get ahead.

“You are joining an elite company. You can continue to use this to achieve whatever it is you want to do,” he said. “Life is a competition most of the time. This organization gives you leverage on the field. Continue to build on that and never be satisfied.”

Alverson also quoted former National Football League wide-receiver Jerry Rice, “’Today I will do what others will not so tomorrow I can accomplish what others cannot,’” which he said was applicable to those who joined PTK.

Those invited for membership include:

  • Andalusia: Loni Blatz, Mohamed Bougafa, Emily Burkett, Kennedy Cleghorn, Elizabeth Cravey, Taylor Earnest, Jameson Fowler, Ean Frasher, Chase Gunter, Emily Hall, Jonathan Hamrac, Heather Henderson, Will Jones, Manh Luu, Mitchell McLelland, Mary Morgan Pierce, Haley Shoemaker, Kyle Stewart, Caleb Whitehurst, Shelby Wicker, Alaina Worley, Danielle Wright, Tapanga Youngs, Ashton Ziglar
  • Brantley: Jacob Grosenbach
  • Clayton: Maci Baker
  • Dothan: William Griffin
  • Dozier: Somer McVay
  • Elba: Jauqeja Booker, Tyra Bradley, Summer Deak, Terreia Hammonds
  • Enterprise: Mitchell Bonura, Lexi Brooks, Mariah Frey, Zachary Hudson
  • Evergreen: Bailey Jones
  • Florala: Courtney Bulger, Maycee Worley
  • Georgiana: Paige Odom
  • Goshen: Kayla Dubose, Anna Hughes
  • Grady: Jamece Brantley
  • Kinston: Alison Glass, Micheal Regan
  • Luverne: Adrianna Bagents, Jenna, Sims, Hunter Stallings
  • Opp: Abigayle Barnett, Allison Jackson, Whitney Johnson, Kelsey Kelley, Spurlin Kelley, Hope Ladson, Kristina Nelson, Morgan Pierce, Maggie Short, John Spann, Hope Walker, Nathanael Walker
  • Pike Road: Elizabeth Powell
  • Red Level: Griffin O’Conner
  • Sylacauga: Jackson Walker
  • Troy: Lindsey Fox
  • Wing: Hunter Ward
  • Wewahitchka, Fla.: Jonathan Palmer