Voters to choose sheriff, nominee for Congress

Published 9:15 am Saturday, July 14, 2018

Polls in Covington County will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. Tuesday for the statewide primary runoff election.

In Covington County, there is only a Republican runoff. Those races on the ballot include:

  • For sheriff: Dennis Meeks and Blake Turman. Meeks, the incumbent, led the race in the June 5 primary. He is seeking a fourth term. Turman began his career as an Alabama State Trooper in 1996.
    There is no Democrat on the ballot, so the Republican runoff will decide the race.
  • For Congress: Bobby Bright and Martha Roby. Roby, the incumbent, led the polling in June. Bright, the former mayor of Montgomery, was elected to the seat in 2008 and served for one term. The winner faces Democrat Tabitha Isner in November.
  • For lieutenant governor: Will Ainsworth and Twinkle Cavanaugh. Ainsworth is a state senator; Cavanaugh currently chairs the Public Service Commission. There is no Democratic candidate.
  • For attorney general: Troy King and Steve Marshall. Marshall, the incumbent, was appointed to the seat by then-Gov. Robert Bentley after then-AG Luther Strange was tapped for the U.S. Senate. King is a former AG.
    The winner faces Democratic candidate Joseph Siegelman in November.
  • For associate justice of Supreme Court, place 1: Brad Mendeim and Sarah Hicks Stewart.
  • For Court of Civil Appeals, place 1: Christy Edwards and Michelle Thomason.
  • For Court of Criminal Appeals, place 2: Rich Anderson and Chris McCool.
  • For commissioner of ag and industries: Gerald Dial and Rick Pate.